University of Jayewardenepura pulled off a 45 run victory over Jaffna University at the 13th Sri Lanka University Games 50 Over Cricket final played at the Rajarata University Grounds on Saturday (31).

Winning the toss J’pura university put up a respectable total of 289 runs in their allotted 50 overs. Kanishka Uggalpura top scored with 91 runs was unlucky to miss a well deserved century.

Isitha Wijesundera, Damithra Panditharatne, Gihan Danushka and Madhawa Fernando were the other batsmen contributed well for the J’pura university total.

In bowling N. Dhanushan, J, Jananthan and R. Lohatheeshwar bowled best to the Jaffna University capturing two wickets each.

In their turn Jaffna University were on road for victory due to two fighting partnership for the 5th and 6th wickets.

First a 45-run partnership by T. Senthuran and D.M. Bandara for the fifth wicket and later Senthuran was involved in a 75-run partnership with P. Thuwaraka Seelan.

But the dismissals of the inform Senthuran and Seelan the rest of the Jaffna tailenders failed to cope with the bowling of Shehara Ranatunga and Sajith De Silva who joined the attack to capture four quick wickets.

University of Sri Jayewardenepura 289 all out (50) (Kanishka Uggalpaya 91, Damithra Panditharatne 33, Madhawa Fernando 34, Isitha Wijesundera 45, Gihan Dhanushka 38, N. Dhanushan 2/22, J. Jananthan 2/38, R. Lohatheeshwar 2/45)

University of Jaffna 244 all out (43.5) (T. Senthuran 74, P. Thuwaraka Seelan 51, D.M. Bandara 38, Shehara Ranatunga 2/17, Sajith De Silva 2/23)

Leave a Reply